Troutdale, Oregon DUI Lawyer
The state of Oregon has a zero-tolerance policy for driving under the influence of intoxicants. In the city of Troutdale all drivers over the age of 21 with a blood alcohol content of more than .08 percent will likely be charged with DUI. If you are convicted of a DUII it will have a huge impact on your life. On top of losing your driver’s license, huge fines, and a permanent criminal record, you face jail time. That is why it is so important that you find the right defense attorney with a strong DUII defense track record. Criminal attorney Rhett Bernstein has the experience and reputation necessary to give you the best possible outcome with your DWI charge in Troutdale, Oregon.
The Criminal Defense law firm of Rhett Bernstein employs former prosecutors, former law enforcement officers, and former forensic experts. Rhett Bernstein defends clients throughout the state of Oregon; including most Portland-area municipal courts, and the following cities in Multnomah County, Call (503) 454-6610 for a free initial case analysis.
DUI Arrest in Troutdale, Everything you Need to Know
If you’re arrested for a first-offense DUII with a BAC of .08% or more, you’ll likely be facing a 90-day suspended license, whether you’re convicted of a DUII or not. In the event you refuse to submit to a breathalyzer test, your license could be for a year. Additionally you will be required to have ignition interlock device installed on your car for a year after your license is suspension. The ignition interlock is required in order to drive with a hardship permit during your license suspension. You will be responsible for paying the cost of the ignition interlock.
If you’re arrested and convicted for a first-offense DUII, the judge will sentence you to jail time and/or community service. The minimum sentence for a misdemeanor DUI is either 80 hours of community service or 48 hours in jail. The maximum penalty for a misdemeanor DWI is 365 days in jail and $6250. All DWI convictions in Troutdale Oregon require that you complete a substance abuse treatment program screening, if any program is recommended by the screener, you are required to complete and pay the costs of the treatment program and screening. You may also be required by the court to attend a victim impact panel.
Troutdale DUII Diversion Program
Under Oregon law, a person facing their first drunk driving charge may be eligible to enter a DUII Diversion Program rather than serve jail time. To be allowed to enter into the program you must plead guilty or no contest to the charge. If you comply with the terms and stay out of trouble your DUI will be dismissed at the end of one year.
Call (503) 454-6610 for a Free, No-Obligation Case Evaluation
If you were recently arrested for driving drunk in the city of Troutdale or anywhere else in Multnomah County, please contact us for a free initial case analysis with Rhett Bernstein, Troutdale DUI Attorney. We will listen to your entire situation including what happened leading up to, during and after your arrest. We will give you our professional advice as to the likelihood of winning in court, and at the DMV hearing.
Legal Disclaimer: Nothing on this site shall be taken as legal advice. For advice on a legal matter, contact attorney Rhett Bernstein immediately for a free, confidential, no obligation consultation.
Criminal Defense attorney Rhett Bernstein is available to practice criminal law anywhere throughout the state of Oregon, including: Clackamas, Multnomah, and Washington counties; as well as most municipal courts throughout the Portland Metro area.